Journalism, Photography

Postscript: May

Bellingham trip, May 29, 2017

Ashley and I went to a wedding in northwest Washington in late May. We stopped and ate chowder on a rocky outcropping in Anacortes on the way up.


A quick story, worth exactly what you paid for it:

I spent last Friday at home, resting up for a climbing trip and protest coverage on successive days.

I slept ‘til 10, started the new House of Cards season and was intentionally unproductive. It felt odd to be so stagnant on a “weekend.”

One of my roommates came home Friday night to see me sitting at the table, eating and gazing into my iPad. We made small talk, he made chili and I eventually made my way out the door for my trip.

My friends and I completed our climb, and I returned home the next afternoon thoroughly exhausted. I scooped myself some ice cream and plopped down at the table once again, returning to Netflix.

My roommate walked through the door, emulating our scenario from the night before. I greeted him, essentially joking that I hadn’t done anything new since he last saw me.

I had done a bunch of other things since then. But he didn’t know about my trip, nor did I explain. His picture of my weekend was true, based on our limited interactions, but incomplete.

It was a good reminder to me, silly as it may seem, that things aren’t necessarily as they appear.

***

Mt. St. Helens edits

Frank and I summited Mount St. Helens early in the month. Conditions couldn’t have been better, and we spent a few hours on the crater rim, taking in gorgeous views and resting our legs. We ended up skiing off the summit and all the way back to the trailhead. Read more about that trip here.

Munra Point

Ashley and I hiked to Munra Point in the Columbia River Gorge before I went to work on a Monday later in the month. The hike turns into a scramble near the top, and we were rewarded with this rugged view, studded with patches of wildflowers.

Pittock Mansion

I rode my bike to Pittock Mansion and snapped this photo of the Portland skyline through the trees.

Mount Hood, May 21, 2017

Allan enlisted me for some help with a story on Mount Hood in mid-May. I worked as a photographer for the story, which has yet to be published, and snapped this photo of Al. Illumination Rock stands in the distance.

Bellingham trip, May 29, 2017

One of Ashley’s childhood friends was getting married in Bellingham, Washington, in late May, and we made the trip north to celebrate. We stayed with another friend on Whidbey Island on the way up and checked out Sunlight Beach on a sunny afternoon.

Bellingham trip, May 29, 2017

We borrowed some sea kayaks and tooled around on the Puget Sound for a bit, North Cascades National Park looming across the water.

Bellingham trip, May 29, 2017

We drove across the Deception Pass Bridge on the way north and stopped to get a better look. Morning sun cut the low fog, making for a beautiful view of the popular tourist stop.


For your consideration…

Read this Outside Magazine story about Lake Superior. Tidbit: “Lake Superior is so cold that if a person dies in it, his or her body is unlikely to resurface. The bacteria that makes a body float grows too slowly here.”

Read this Elle profile of New York Times political reporter Maggie Haberman. Tidbit: Haberman broke a major story while attending her son’s kindergarten graduation last year.

Read this lovely VeloNews look at the Little 500, a bike race in Bloomington, Indiana. Tidbit: I once considered enrolling at Indiana University, whose main campus is in Bloomington. I went to Ohio University instead.

I’m reading Terry Tempest Williams’ “The Hour of Land: A Personal Topography of America’s National Parks.” The memoir contains 12 vignettes of the author’s experiences in our nation’s national parks. Tidbit: “For all of us, Acadia is another breathing space. Perhaps that is what parks are—breathing spaces for a society that increasingly holds its breath.”

I covered a stabbing on a light-rail train that left two dead and one injured in late May. The men killed or injured tried to intervene as another man yelled racial slurs at two young women who appeared to be Muslim, including one wearing a hijab, police said.

In other news, I wrote about ski fatigue (ski resorts closing despite a great snowpack) and how search and rescue personnel encourage people playing outside to be prepared.

As always, thanks for reading.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

My name is Jim Ryan, and I'm a breaking news reporter for The Oregonian and OregonLive in Portland. I'm an Ohio University graduate from Gaylord, Michigan.

