Journalism, Photography

Postscript: 20 photos for 2016

I brought this blog back from the dead to chronicle the highlights of each month, share some photos and give myself fodder to laugh about down the line. 

I’ll stop short of offering any musings about 2016, other than saying I feel lucky to have had a year of adventure and learning. Here are 20 of my favorite photos from the past 12 months.

Happy holidays, folks. And as always, thanks for reading.

Fog set in during a late-month hike to the top of 1,450-foot Neahkahnie Mountain, which is near Cannon Beach, Oregon.

Fog set in during a late-January hike to the top of Neahkahnie Mountain, which is near Cannon Beach, Oregon.

Skibowl

Dillon and I went night riding at Skibowl in Government Camp, Oregon, in late February. A light affixed to the chairlift illuminates snowboarders on the chair in front of us.

Mount Defiance

Snow melts on Oregon’s Mount Defiance, as seen from across the Columbia River in March.

Waterfall

I stumbled across this waterfall while hiking in the Mt. Hood National Forest in April.

New York City

I hopped on a plane in May to see my college friends who moved to New York City after graduation. They treated me to a great long weekend, which included this trip on the Staten Island Ferry.

Portland

Part of Portland’s skyline is lit up at dusk, as pictured from the city’s West Hills in May.

Cape Lookout State Park

Gianna took me camping on the Oregon coast for my birthday in June.

Oregon coast

I lost in Phase 10, so I bought breakfast (with a view) the next morning in Oceanside.

Lost Lake

A June hike from Lost Lake to Buck Peak was one of the best I’ve done in Oregon. The 16-mile trek rises to the Pacific Crest Trail before jutting off to the peak.

Three Sisters

I had a clear view of several snowy peaks from a meadow on Crescent Mountain in central Oregon in July.

Dickey Creek

Dickey Creek runs through the Bull of the Woods Wilderness in the Mt. Hood National Forest. Bryan and I set up camp just off camera during a late July backpacking trip.

Green Lakes

Fedor leads the way to Green Lakes. The hike was part of an August overnight trip to central Oregon. We ran into a woman he knows from grad school a few minutes after I took this photo. Small world.

Heart Lake

I took this morning view for granted when I was younger, growing up on Heart Lake in Gaylord, Michigan. I don’t anymore. I took this photo in August during a week-long trip home.

Treetops Resort

I headed out to Treetops Resort, my home ski hill, while I was in Gaylord. The slopes aren’t as imposing as those I’ve encountered out west, but while the resort may be short on elevation, it’s long on beauty. I worked a summer at one of its golf courses as a high school student, and it’s stunning in the summer — perhaps more so than during the winter.

Sunset in Scottsburg

The sun sets through the trees in Scottsburg, Oregon, where I stayed the night between Cottage Grove and two days on the Oregon Coast in September.

Cascade Head

I hiked Cascade Head before turning toward home. The view from the top is my favorite (so far) on the Oregon coast because it looks out over miles of largely undeveloped coastline, mountains and an inland waterway.

IMG_9240

A climber looks over the Cascade mountains from atop Monkey Face at Smith Rock. I took this photo on the way back from Bend, Oregon, in October.

Cinder Cone

My next two trips to Bend included ski days at Mt. Bachelor, which sits about 45 minutes outside the central Oregon city. I took the above photo from atop the resort’s cinder cone, a popular hiking and riding spot, the day after Thanksgiving.

Eagle Creek

Fedor and I hiked along Eagle Creek in the Columbia River Gorge on a rare December day that didn’t require a rain jacket.

Mt. Bachelor

I returned to Bachelor with Dillon in early December for a Monday powder day. We had several hours of wonderful, clear conditions before a storm rolled in and we rolled out.

More: 20 photos for 2015

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Postscript: January 2017 | Jim Ryan - January 31, 2017

Leave a Reply

My name is Jim Ryan, and I'm a breaking news reporter for The Oregonian and OregonLive in Portland. I'm an Ohio University graduate from Gaylord, Michigan.

