Journalism, Ohio University

Looking back on 2013

Snow falling over my backyard in Gaylord, Mich.

Snow falling in my backyard in Gaylord, Mich.

Home for the holidays, I’ve had the opportunity to reflect on what was a truly enriching year past. I was able to travel fairly extensively, work for two top-notch publications and continue my education at Ohio University. I’ve been continually blessed with a great family and the best friends and girlfriend a guy could ask for.

More than anything, I’ve learned so much this year as a Columbus Dispatch intern and as part of a fantastic team of reporters, editors, designers and photographers at The Post. I’ve reported on everything from the woes of student parents at OU and restaurant noise in Columbus to former student-athletes making waves as scientists and a family that houses college-age baseball players each summer. I also covered the Ohio men’s basketball team during the 2012-13 season, continued to host a sports radio show and was part of a team that penned The Post’s editorials this fall.

I discovered Spotify and story-saving app Pocket, bought a bike, learned how to cook (kind of) and was able to come home to Michigan on four occasions. 

And I was able to travel — to Los Angeles and New York City for the first time; Windsor, Canada; Michigan’s Upper Peninsula; and all around Ohio. I took pictures along the way.

I wrote more about 2013 and what I’m looking forward to in 2014 in my monthly column for my hometown Gaylord Herald Times. Happy new year, folks.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

My name is Jim Ryan, and I'm a breaking news reporter for The Oregonian and OregonLive in Portland. I'm an Ohio University graduate from Gaylord, Michigan.

