Journalism, Ohio University

October in Athens

The international spotlight was cast on Athens in October because of a public sex act that was initially investigated as an alleged rape on our main Uptown drag that caught the attention of a wide range of media.

Our editorial office has been a living, breathing journalism ethics course, and I’ve learned a lot because of it. I’d be remiss not to mention that I’m quite proud of the extensive work we at The Post have done on the subject.

Otherwise, my main focus has been on editing, writing editorials and producing multimedia this month.

My main project was co-producing a lengthy multimedia piece similar to NPR’s “Tiny Desk Concerts,” which was released on Oct. 3. It featured The Corbin Marsh Band, a local acoustic outfit that was greatly accommodating and helpful.

We recorded another session at the end of the month — this time with a two-man band that toted a full drum kit. I’m excited for the video to drop in mid-November. Here’s a sneak peek:

Athens Sessions, round two

Athens Sessions, round two

I’ve also kept up with my radio show, The Green & White Review, and have recorded and edited a pair of biweekly podcasts about music and pop culture, respectively.

Here’s an example of The GWR, a half-hour sports talk radio show:

Here’s a sampling of the editorials we’ve written:

Athletics should explain recent replacement

Decision needs to spark discussion

Rerouting attitudes will be difficult feat

Students should rethink social media conduct

Little immediate action in OU’s Climate Action Plan

Health care, shutdown and Clery Act all have large impact

I’ve also had the opportunity to cover some music.

I was able to email back and forth with Kacey Musgraves, who was nominated for six CMA Awards. Here’s my recap of the show.

And, as always, we’ve drawn some funny cartoons.

Oct. 30

Oct. 28

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: November in Athens | Jim Ryan - December 9, 2013

Leave a Reply

My name is Jim Ryan, and I'm a breaking news reporter for The Oregonian and OregonLive in Portland. I'm an Ohio University graduate from Gaylord, Michigan.

