Journalism, Ohio University

Another summer in the books

Columbus Dispatch

The Columbus Dispatch

The past summer was an exciting one, as I spent the past several months living in New Albany, Ohio and working for The Columbus Dispatch, where I was a features intern.

My 12 weeks in Columbus were spent covering a wide range of topics for the Life & Arts, Weekender, Travel and Home sections of The Dispatch.

The best part of the job was that it was a daily learning experience. My editors were thorough, helpful and often turned routine edits into tangible teaching points. They also encouraged me to pitch my own stories — fewer than five of my published pieces were assigned. That taught me to keep my head up and follow ideas that would have flown under my radar.

I wrote about the trend of heightened restaurant noise, a family that hosts college baseball players each summer, scientists who are former NCAA athletes and a girl traveling the country in a pink semitrailer, among many other things.

One of my favorite stories was about how teenage fangirls use social media to adamantly track the British boy band One Direction. (I gained upward of 30 teen Twitter followers in the process.)

Now I return to my position at The Post, where I will be reporting and editing projects, as well as producing a pair of podcasts.

I’m also beginning the bulk of my journalism courses, being that I completed my general education requirements in the spring.

And though I’m not jumping to fast-forward the remainder of the summer months, there’s nothing like the fall in Athens.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

My name is Jim Ryan, and I'm a breaking news reporter for The Oregonian and OregonLive in Portland. I'm an Ohio University graduate from Gaylord, Michigan.

