Journalism, Photography

My first shot at time-lapse photography

Now that I’m settled down in Athens and my first story is filed away and is sweeping through the editing process, I took a couple minutes to upload a couple of pictures from my trip south over the weekend.

…Except I already put up the ones I took of Pittsburgh. Here’s a couple (thousand) from my drive there.

If you’ve ever done something like this before, please let me know. I feel like this could be made much cooler with practice.

One of the time-lapse shots from the toll road entering Pennsylvania.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “My first shot at time-lapse photography

  1. I think it would be better if you just used a video camera and then it wouldnt be so choppy

    Posted by Jimbo | January 3, 2012, 11:00 pm
    • Jimbo,

      Thanks for the feedback; I agree. The reason for the extra choppiness is that my editing software automatically ads up-and-down movements in between each photo. There’s no way I can figure out to change that on a large scale… And there’s too many photos to check each individually.
      Thanks,

      Jim

      Posted by James Ryan | January 3, 2012, 11:04 pm
  2. Definitely a cool idea. Try disabling the Ken Burns effect (maybe there’s an automatic “Ken Burns” feature on your software you can switch off) then reload the photos — that’d be faster than changing each one individually. I think that will smooth it out really nice.
    Also, some music, maybe “Goin’ Up the Country” by Canned Heat, you know, that Woodstock song. Or Katy Perry, whichever you college kids are into.

    Posted by Chris E. | January 4, 2012, 8:30 am
    • Yeah I couldn’t figure anything out… But that doesn’t mean that the feature doesn’t exist. It looks really choppy… I’ll probably use a different software next time.
      And I think I’ll stick with some Canned Heat… Except you need to buy the license to upload it now, which is annoying.
      Thanks!

      Posted by James Ryan | January 4, 2012, 10:13 am

Leave a Reply

My name is Jim Ryan, and I'm a breaking news reporter for The Oregonian and OregonLive in Portland. I'm an Ohio University graduate from Gaylord, Michigan.

