Journalism, Ohio University

Livin’ the good life

I think I could get used to this sort of gig. Cushy seats, generally nice people and a free meal that doesn’t taste like plastic. Ah, I’m living the good life.

This weekend I took yet another road trip, this time to the lovely city of LeBron — I mean Akron.

Maybe the effect wears off with time, but I’m totally digging the (quote on quote) work that I have been doing. Traveling around the state and surrounding area with cool people, a couple of pens, a camera, notebook and laptop isn’t all that bad of a deal.

Most people slow down on the weekend, but lately it has only accelerated my (work)load. I liken it to climbing up the track on a roller coaster and then whooshing down faster than you thought you could go, each dip and turn getting bigger and more thrilling.

Yeah, that’s my life.

My friends and I have joked that each week gets more and more stressful, piling on to our preconceived notions of how college would be. Well, the good news is that it’s better than I thought, just in different ways.

Example being: Economics sucks, but hanging out in Akron is cool.

I’m going to keep it short and sweet, but here’s my latest video — Akron vs. Ohio highlights. Personally, I think it’s the most comprehensive one yet.

Also, here’s a couple of super ironic photos from my friend Mike and I’s stop for gas in Zanesville. If you don’t understand why they are hilarious, just Google “Zanesville.” Then let me know if you still don’t get it!

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Livin’ the good life

  1. still don’t get it…

    Posted by kristinsalaky | October 23, 2011, 9:06 pm
  2. Jimothy,
    Thanks for spelling my name wrong…why don’t you just leave my show early too? Oh wait…
    I like your roller coaster analogy…that is all.
    Love x a thousand burning suns,
    Kristin

    Posted by kristinsalaky | October 25, 2011, 12:37 pm

Leave a Reply

My name is Jim Ryan, and I'm a breaking news reporter for The Oregonian and OregonLive in Portland. I'm an Ohio University graduate from Gaylord, Michigan.

