Journalism, Ohio University

When in Buffalo…

UB Stadium - home of the Bulls

My roommate let me in on a little bit of good old fashion college insight a week or so back. He told me to look at things from a “why not” perspective instead of the more typical “why” outlook, when posed with a proposition.

So… This past weekend I drove to Buffalo.

Why not?

A couple of the guys from The Post were looking to find a way up to catch the Buffalo -Ohio football game and asked me if I would like to join. I figured it’d be a good escape from the day-to-day grind that is journalism school to make the seven-hour trek to Buffalo.

My alarm was a little harsh, waking me up at 5:30 after being out until 3:00 the previous night/morning (don’t worry, adults, I was working!), but we were on the road by 7:00 and at the field by 2:00, with the game starting at 3:30.

Once again, I got busy with my recording and got some of my best footage of the year. It’s been really good finding a way to get involved with a bit “bigger” stuff here at OU… I could definitely get used to covering football the way I have been — my Friday-Saturday grind has consisted of a pair of videos and at least one game story each of the past four or five weeks.

The way home was a bit more tiring, with only a late-night run to Steak ‘n Shake jolting us awake enough to get home safe. I parked my car around 3:00 and was asleep probably no more than 10 minutes later, safe and sound in my little extra-long twin.

Ah, the glorious college life.

So, to tie in with my super-philisophical “why not” college lesson, I’ll offer another.

Good time management is key with pretty much everything you do in college. As an example, I’ll run through my schedule for today.

9:30 – 10:30am – Study
11:00 – 3:00pm – Class
3:10 – 3:20 – Meal
(Notice that getting food has turned into “meal”. There is no breakfast, lunch and dinner in college.)
3:30 – 4:00 Meeting
4:00 – 5:00 Video production
5:00 – 5:45 – Meal
6:00 – 8:00 – Study
8:00 – ? – Study/work/assorted fun

I realized about halfway through typing that out that it was a waste of time. I hope you all don’t think I’m too conceited for posting my schedule — I’m sure your’s is just as hectic.

The point being, overall, (yes, I’ll actually get to the point) that I’ve learned to weed out the things that aren’t important in favor of more pressing issues. Just this post is an example. I’ve been sitting here for about 15 minutes with one interruption and have hammered out 500 words.

I love my writing and I wish I could spend a lot more time just doing what I’m doing because I feel like I have a lot to say.

Who knows, maybe it’ll all slow down this weekend.

I doubt it, but anyway. Here’s my video! As always, tell me what you think and what I should be doing better. Enjoy!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “When in Buffalo…

  1. nice job Jim. Grab an a scoreboard shot every so often for a reference of the score and will help to know what time the video/play was at in the game. For sure a scoreboard at the end of the video…just thoughts.

    Posted by Rob DeForge | October 19, 2011, 10:26 am
    • Thanks Mr. Deforge,

      I’ll definitely take that into account in my next video. It would add a lot to the tape – only problem is that I don’t necessarily have good, comprehensive footage of the whole game. Some of the touchdowns I might not get good footage or whatnot, so jumping around in the score might seem a little weird.
      But I agree, thanks for the feedback!

      — Jim

      Posted by James Ryan | October 19, 2011, 10:39 am

Leave a Reply

My name is Jim Ryan, and I'm a breaking news reporter for The Oregonian and OregonLive in Portland. I'm an Ohio University graduate from Gaylord, Michigan.

