Journalism

For The Post: Ohio vs. Kent State highlights

This past Saturday I had the opportunity to take to the friendly confines of Peden Stadium to take video of the Ohio – Kent State football game. With rain spitting down and the temperature hovering slightly below 50° I can safely say that it was quite an experience.

The game was a success, with the Bobcats sneaking past their Mid-American Conference opponents 17-10. As with the team, I was equally successful. My footage, though not as exciting as what I shot when OU faced off with Marshall two weeks ago, was good.

I say good because it surely doesn’t look great. I have very amateur equipment and no real video training.

Really though, it doesn’t matter. I have always said that I would rather learn by “doing” than by sitting in a classroom any day.

Plus, I have my eye on cameras more than ever before… my bank account better watch out. I’m nearly convinced that I should make the upgrade to a DSLR.

In the meantime, I’ll keep sharpening my skills on the football fields of Southeast Ohio. Hopefully as the season wears on I’ll be spared from the weather that forced me to implement a makeshift Walmart bag rain cover Saturday.

It’s all about the experience!

If you have any word on what I’m doing wrong, where I should go to get my hands on a good used camera or any other tips of the trade please get ahold of me — I’d love to hear from you.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

My name is Jim Ryan, and I'm a breaking news reporter for The Oregonian and OregonLive in Portland. I'm an Ohio University graduate from Gaylord, Michigan.

