Ohio University

Rock on

"Lounging" in the Read Hall study area. Where the heck is everyone else? It's a school night at 8:25!

I’ve found a new obsession. Before I dive any further I should clarify. Those who know me (as I would assume you do, being that you’re reading this,) may know that I am easy to please. It doesn’t take much to make me happy — the little things in life pretty much do it for me.

My new obsession is music.

You all think I’m weird(er than before). Okay, so what. It’s not like I didn’t love music before. I’ve got an iPod that’s filled with everything from Bon Jovi to Snoop Dog. I went to a good handful of concerts this summer. I’ve spent a lot of money putting nice speakers in my car.

(Yes, Mom, the really loud ones are gone.)

Point being, this isn’t a new thing… but yet it is. And to think all it took was a pair of headphones.

One of the things I admire about my little brother is that he is so passionate about everything he does, to the point where you can’t help but laugh sometimes.

A couple of examples:

If we watch a basketball game on ESPN, he’ll be out shooting hoops in the driveway before the end of the third quarter.

This summer we went to a Dierks Bentley concert in Interlochen. Great show. Not the point. When we got home he pulled out the long-lost guitar that was collecting dust in the bottomless pit that he calls his closet and rocked hard long past the time when the rest of us were settled in for the night.

The reasoning behind the tangent there being that all it took was $22.98 to set me up with a completely “new” passion.

Now one of my favorite things to do is walk around campus “plugged in”. No, I’m not one of the ridiculous Bluetoothed-out business men. I just like to listen to music.

It gives the whole college a bit of an innocence. For those of you that say it’s not plausible to say “college” and “innocence” in a sentence without “has a lack of” in between, hear me out.

With the sound turned up and your eyes wide open you are oblivious to the problems of the man walking in front of you, the arguments between a couple over a cup of coffee at a table next to the sidewalk you’re walking on, or the car stereo causing a ruckus in the distance.

It’s all just people. For all you know they’re all happy, worry-free individuals enjoying their day at Ohio University. Who needs rose-colored glasses?

It’s the same reason I used to train for my sports while listening to country while my partner would be reppin’ some Young Jeezy or something of that nature. Who said you can’t just be happy all the time?

Yes, this week has been great on many other fronts. I’ll touch on those in a separate post this weekend — believe me, I have a lot to say. Regardless, I really think jamming out has made me geniunely happy.

I decided to translate newfound passion to my studies as well. When I’m not walking around I have no need for an iPod. Most of my music on it is outdated anyway. This led me to explore YouTube. I concluded after one study session that the service is great, but in the end it takes too much effort to click from song to song. Plus it’s way to easy to get distracted.

Then I met my maker. All hail Pandora Radio.

Not only can I now rock out on the go, I can jam and cram at the same time!

Making a very average activity semi-enjoyable… Now that’s what I call College Student 101.

I’ll wrap it up by saying that the big picture can get to be a little bit of a drag sometimes. There are days where we all roll out of bed only to find ourselves looking for a reason to climb back in. I’ve got a couple posts I want to do that get real philosophical, touching on this sort of stuff and all. I’m learning how to create my own happiness, which is huge for me, honestly.

Take it for what you please, but it’s the little battles that win the war. Why can’t the same be applied to general morale as well?

Rock on fellows, rock on.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

My name is Jim Ryan, and I'm a breaking news reporter for The Oregonian and OregonLive in Portland. I'm an Ohio University graduate from Gaylord, Michigan.

