Journalism, Ohio University

Lens envy on the OHIO sidelines

I got my first college press pass Friday, giving me access to the sidelines during the ‘Battle of the Bell’; OU’s rivalry game with the Marshall Thundering Herd.
Regardless of how pumped I was to be on the sideline, the Bobcats blew Marshall out of the water by nearly 40 points. It made for a really cool first game.
The actual reasoning behind me getting the “seats” that every Ozone (OHIO’s student section) kid wanted was that I was shooting video for The Post. Despite major camera issues and such I think I got a good experience out of the deal and have my foot in the door towards more similar opportunities in the future.
The only negative of the whole deal is that now I want to buy a better camera. I had total lens envy. My little baby Cannon can’t hold a match to any one of the photographers’ cameras that I saw the other night. On that same note, look for some stills to be uploaded soon as well.
In the end, the footage and editing was good, not great. If anyone knows someone looking to get rid of a good camera let me know. Life is good.

Click here to check out my video of OU vs. Marshall 

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Lens envy on the OHIO sidelines

  1. What an awesome opportunity you had – and for your first time shooting video at a college game you did a REALLY good job. Your zooming was pretty good and you caught most of the action in the frame (ha, just kidding!) – great job! I’ll keep my ears open for an inexpensive camera – the university doesn’t have one? Or is this for personal use? My WMU Bronco’s had a similar romp over our arch-rival CMU – http://www.flickr.com/photos/pdkerwin/
    Our teams won’t play eachother until the MAC Championship – see you there!

    Posted by Patrick Kerwin | September 19, 2011, 1:24 pm
    • Patrick,

      Thanks a bunch for the feedback! It was really cool being down there on the field. The camera poses a bit of a problem with passes simply because it doesn’t zoom in and out quickly, thus tacking on time that makes me miss a lot of the ball flight.
      Regardless it seemed like a step in the right direction — I hadn’t done video in a long time.
      I really like the shot of the student section, by the way. Those always make for cool, emotional pictures.
      Let me know if you find a good camera for sale!
      Thanks again,
      Jim

      Posted by James Ryan | September 19, 2011, 3:18 pm
  2. Nice job Jim!

    Posted by Trisha Adam | September 19, 2011, 7:46 pm
  3. Lens envy…..LOL. I have been there, and still am at some local high school games where some newspapers have the large Canon white lens. Nice article in the HT to day as well….you are on your way.

    Posted by Rob DeForge | September 28, 2011, 12:05 pm
    • Thanks, Mr. Deforge!
      My little Cannon couldn’t hold a flame to some of the jumbo lenses these Viscom majors have down here. I’m looking for a new one if you ever hear of anyone trying to sell, FYI.
      Hope all is well!

      — Jim

      Posted by James Ryan | September 28, 2011, 1:09 pm

Leave a Reply

My name is Jim Ryan, and I'm a breaking news reporter for The Oregonian and OregonLive in Portland. I'm an Ohio University graduate from Gaylord, Michigan.

