Journalism, Ohio University

I live in Athens

Okay, it’s definitely time to pound out another post. I know I’ve said this before, but college is finally becoming real. I’m finding time to get this down while my friends are out doing laundry… who needs clean clothes these days anyway?

I’ve learned a lot since I set foot on the OU campus a week ago. It doesn’t seem big and scary anymore and is beginning to feel more and more like the place I belong.

I have friends — lots of them. That’s surely a new aspect of my life. I have been joking with everyone, saying that I have not made so many new friends since first grade. The reality of it, though, is that I really am. Heck, I’ve even started running into people I know around campus. The bad thing is that I can’t seem to remember all of their names. Who’d have thunk!

Aside from the social aspect, college is a good place to be. My classes are (fairly) interesting and I feel like the instructors care more than their assumed reputation. I have a good standing at The Post, the student-run campus newspaper, and have written a pair of stories so far. Not bad for the first week.

On the note of journalism and classes, what this whole blog is supposed to be about, I think I have totally found my niche in my journalism course for the quarter, JFreshman Newsroom. In this, the head of the journalism department has taken the top 20 applicants and provided for us

My dorm, Read Hall.

a hands-on experience in substitute for the more basic journalism 101 class.

This has been right up my alley.

We have mentors that previously took the course who have volunteered to come back and help us. Nobody told them to — it was their idea. We have a pair of professors who Skype in from different timezones. Most of all, we have a highly motivated group of young journalists who I believe will make a huge impact in my life.

I met these guys yesterday and have already spent a night and early morning getting to know several of them, learning more and more about people like me.

Crazy, huh? What a relief.

Lastly, this place is fun. Looking out my window I can see a crew of OU employees setting up a slip-n-slide. Across campus there is another group gathering for the home opener tailgate party. There’s Lady Gaga playing really loud from somewhere. Yeah… life is good.

And to think my friends are out doing laundry. Ha!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “I live in Athens

  1. We are alike in that we found a diverse crowd of individuals in our respective schools, but at the same time we found a rather large sample size of individuals who share the same academic goal or vision in mind (i.e. in your case, you’ve found a journalist opportunity that exceeds anything you would have found in gaylord.) Seems obvious that more people would result in more people.

    Although

    For some reason, that surprised me. In retrospect, I’m surprised that i was surprised of that in the first place, If that makes any sense. It truly has a cryptic affect on my mind, and how I initially expected college life to be. I think this is a result of the common expectation that a college bound individual would meet people on a continuum of eccentricity, but the standard should be amended. It feels much like a bell curve. The range still exists, but a phenomenon still stands that I realized the first time I left the states and interacted with other people my age (2010 Mt. Hood): people from different parts of the country aren’t really all that different from ourselves in small, isolated Gaylord, MI.

    Posted by Ryan Li | September 11, 2011, 10:19 pm
    • Ryan,

      It’s funny that you bring that up. In less academic language, I have noticed that a lot of the people I’ve met line up with people I know from Gaylord. Regardless of what they’re “into,” or what they study, I see a lot of parallels.
      College isn’t really what I expected it to be. It isn’t what it is portrayed in the media. It isn’t a cold, non-interactive community in which each man is for himself. It isn’t party central 24/7. It IS many other things. In that, going to OU has completely exceeded my expectations.
      This will probably be the topic of my next post. Thanks again!

      – Jim

      Posted by James Ryan | September 11, 2011, 11:13 pm

Leave a Reply

My name is Jim Ryan, and I'm a breaking news reporter for The Oregonian and OregonLive in Portland. I'm an Ohio University graduate from Gaylord, Michigan.

