Journalism, Ohio University

Can I get this down and make it to class in time?

In about an hour I will wander down to some building unknown to me and take my first college course. Leading up to this, I have spent four days getting to know the campus, people and general ways of Ohio University.

Needless to say, the first couple of days have rocked. They’re supposed to. Everything is great — there are no classes, responsibilities or commitments. Most of us just came and went as we pleased, getting acquainted with our surroundings as we saw fit.

So far I believe this is the right place for me. I have made good friends with the people in my hall and have been able to meet up with some new bros outside of my complex as well. Everyone has been super helpful to me and has been more than willing to lend a helping hand. All in all my experience has been nearly 100% positive.

I know that things are going to get stressful and I am fully aware that starting in now slightly under an hour the honeymoon period we call move-in week will be over. I will be officially bound to doing what I actually came to college to do — learn.

That in itself is exciting to me. As most other kids, I came to college looking to broaden my horizons socially and build a more complete version of myself. However, as much as that all means to me, I have been looking forward to developing my academic skill set nearly as much. After all, it is why I’m here.

I consider myself lucky that I am able to start off this journey. Although I am quote on quote “alone” here, I have so many great people that have pushed, prodded and helped me get to this point. I couldn’t have done it alone, nor without the help of all of you.

I’ve spent a little of my free time thinking about what I want my goals to be for this school year. The more I think about it, the more I really don’t know. I would love to say I know who I am and what I am capable of but I really don’t think I can. I know who I was to the town of Gaylord and I know what I did there. Now what really matters is what I can make of it all. It’s going to take a bit of feeling out before I can truly set myself up with a solid foundation of goals.

Covering yet another topic before my brisk walk to class, I have met more people like me in a couple of days than I have in my entire life and I haven’t even started class yet. (Countdown is at 51 minutes.) There are more young aspiring photographers, designers and journalists on this campus than I have ever met — just another reason I believe this is the right place for me.

Although this post is a bit scattered, it pretty much sums up what I’ve done since I posted last. I’m still a wide-eyed freshman and I still don’t know the ins and outs of this university. Heck, I’m still a bit intimidated by it all.I feel like it’s going to be a great four years.

Oh yeah, but I haven’t started statistics yet.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: If I learned one thing « J. Ryan Online - June 13, 2012

Leave a Reply

My name is Jim Ryan, and I'm a breaking news reporter for The Oregonian and OregonLive in Portland. I'm an Ohio University graduate from Gaylord, Michigan.

