Gaylord Herald Times, Golf, Journalism, Ohio University

How I feel about things

Over the weekend, I came to the conclusion that I had nothing to write about this week. Yes, I learned how to fly fish Friday, but I already wrote a column about that (for the Petoskey News-Review and Herald Times.) Really though, I write about those types of things often — I don’t need to wear them out. Sitting on my back porch watching a fisherman twirl around the lake, it hit me. I need to write about what I’m leaving behind when I move out to Athens in a week and a half.

For one, I’m leaving behind my family. That’s tough enough as it is, being the first kid to leave the house and all. It’s going to be weird not coming home to the same people every night.

Aside from that, I can pretty much encompass what I am going to miss by describing my day.

For starters, I woke up around seven in order to make it to work on time. There’s nothing like walking upstairs to a good sunrise, knowing that it’s going to be a nice, enjoyable day.

Like always, I learned a thing or two at work (a more efficient way to make a horizontal rule in InDesign, for example.) This week I am putting out the sports section myself, for our editor is gone for a couple of days. That in itself is a learning experience. It’s funny how I have been with the Herald Times for almost four years now and I still pick up on little things each day I’m at the office. It just goes to show that I am getting into a field that I truly have a passion for.

After work, I met a friend down at the driving range to get in a couple hours of brutal swing reconstruction, thanks to Jason Guss. I have to say though, I’m getting there. It’s going to be different, granted a good different, but different nonetheless, to walk away from the guys I have grown up with. None of my ‘bros’ will be within a couple hundred miles come September.

Coming home to dinner with my family is one of the things I have taken for granted all my life… I feel like that is about to change, however. After a couple of months of cafeteria food I will be more than ready for a heaping plate of mom’s spaghetti.

After dinner, it was back to the golf course, this time with my dad and brother. It’s a great feeling being able to call five minutes ahead and waltz right on to one of the top courses in the state, if not the country. Regardless of the state of my game or the people I’m playing with, I will always appreciate the scenery and sheer beauty that this area has to offer. On the same note, I didn’t really take either of those things to heart until recently, for whatever reason.

Now I’m back to square one, typing on the back deck looking out over a pitch black lake with only a couple of lights reflecting across the water. I know regardless of what I do in life or where I call home in the future, I will always have a huge place in my heart for the place I am sitting right now.

Once I hit ‘publish’ on this story, I’ll probably head inside and twiddle my thumbs, texting my girlfriend before heading off to bed. She leaves for her college in Kentucky in less than two days. To think that I am following in her footsteps in a couple weeks is just crazy. As much as we have been waiting and waiting for these days to come, it seems like the summer has flown by at the same time.

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t going to miss things the way they are. I love my life and the things that it encompasses. In saying that, I’m off to find new things that will make it even more special.

I think I found plenty to write about.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “How I feel about things

  1. Well put. This is a well relatable example of the dynamic change that many of us graduates will experience in the weeks to come. What I enjoyed is the attention to what is truly the most impacting difference we have to endure: the tiny, minute details that collectively determine the environment around us. We can change how we eat, when we sleep, and how we study, but nothing can prepare us for the fact that the meal wasnt prepared by our parents, or the sheets dont quite feel as comfortable on a twin matress. It will be the biggest adjustment of our lives, undoubtly.

    Posted by Ry Guy | August 16, 2011, 11:07 pm
    • Thanks Ryan,

      You couldn’t be more spot on — that’s exactly what I was going for here. With all of the major changes happening in our lives, many times we (and the people around us) make light of the little things or simply let them fall by the wayside. It’s my best guess that it will be many of the little things we will miss most, much in part because of the fact that we are anticipating the major changes and not so much the little ones.

      I appreciate the comment!

      Posted by James Ryan | August 17, 2011, 11:00 pm
  2. I know you’ll miss Golf. Ski. Spa. the most! I’ll miss working with you Jim, but i know you are about to embark on a great journey and you are going to do amazing things with your life!

    Posted by Denae | August 18, 2011, 12:04 am

Leave a Reply

My name is Jim Ryan, and I'm a breaking news reporter for The Oregonian and OregonLive in Portland. I'm an Ohio University graduate from Gaylord, Michigan.

