Journalism

You learn something new every day

You learn something new every day. Such a simple statement, but true. As the days pass by and July begins to fade into August, it seems I am learning more than ever. Ever since I took my steps across the stage, graduating from Gaylord High School this spring, I have taken in more than I thought I would before leaving for college.

And that’s where the real learning begins.

Just this past week, I finished up one of the most challenging projects slung my way. As background, I have gotten into the habit of taking over for all of the Herald Times regulars when they go on a vacation or whatnot. This accomplishes two things: 1) It keeps everyone else in their normal routine. 2) It gives me the chance to experiment and tack on some good clips. Page designs, columns, extra stories, etc.

This week, I volunteered for recapping a recycling committee meeting. For a writer with a general knowledge of that sort of thing it would be a routine story. Sort of a basketball or baseball game to me. However, I had absolutely no experience in the field, so it made for a bit of a challenge.

All in all, the recycling story turned out to be one of the most rewarding pieces I have put together thus far. For a routine story, I put in much more legwork than the average and was able to pull together some quality information. Starting out, I wanted the story to come across as if I knew a thing or two about recycling. When it was all said and done, though, I walked away from it all with a thorough understanding of the process and what our community would like to offer.

The main thing I learned was that trying new things is good. Once again, a very simplistic statement. There is a lot that this profession has to offer outside of the sporting world and I should experience it all before settling down. It would be an injustice to myself not to. Who knows, I might just become captivated with the next replacement job I am pitched.

In the meantime, the action of the Gaylord Golf Mecca will keep me more than busy. Aside from my 40-hour ‘Big Winning Weekend’, as I have dubbed it, at Treetops Resort (Where I work my ‘real’ job, check Resumé ), Otsego Club and The Loon will be hosting media events this week, which I will be attending. On top of my trip to Garland Resort last week, this will add up to be one of my favorite stretches on the job to date. A separate blog post will follow next week.

By then, I think I’ll probably have learned another thing or two.

Here’s a link to the story on the Herald Times website. Look for it in Saturday’s paper edition. Committee looks to revamp recycling.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

My name is Jim Ryan, and I'm a breaking news reporter for The Oregonian and OregonLive in Portland. I'm an Ohio University graduate from Gaylord, Michigan.

